SoCal TMS Patient Testimonials

LEARN WHAT PEOPLE SAY ABOUT SOCAL TMS

These TMS stories are testimonials from our real patients who have received TMS therapy for depression from SoCal TMS. TMS therapy is a non-invasive, effective, outpatient treatment for depression; performed in a doctor’s office or clinic. Major Depression is a serious medical illness affecting more than 14 million American adults every year.

Patient Testimonials & Reviews


Before TMS I was not really functioning. I was having trouble getting through daily tasks. Medication alone was not helping, and I felt extremely stuck. After treatment I am feeling so much better. This is my second round of TMS and it works just as effectively as before. The staff at Pasadena have been so amazing! Amy is just a compassionate angel who goes above and beyond to make sure the patient can navigate insurance road blocks. Also huge shout out to the doctors at SoCal TMS! They are attentive, observant, thoughtful piece of the TMS experience. I am blown away by the attentive staff and doctors here. I would recommend this to anyone. It saved my life, twice!”

-Carley


Before I started TMS treatment I was feeling bad. I had a lot of ruminating thoughts, anxiety, and I felt hopeless. I could not concentrate, and I was always worrying about the future. I would obsess over what I lacked in life and saw the cup half empty.

After completing my TMS treatment, I feel much better. I do not take things as personally and I am much more resilient than I used to be. On a scale from 1-10 (10 being the worst), my depression was a 7 out of 10 prior to treating and currently some days I can call it a 0. My anxiety is down to a 0-2. I can think clearer than I could before and now see the cup half full. I find myself to be more positive and solution oriented. After completing this treatment at SoCal TMS, I feel like I deserve to have a good life and be happy.”

-M.B.

My overall response to treatment was positive with improvements ranging from slight to remarkable. Since completing TMS therapy I am less anxious and sleep better. I feel more motivated, more engaged, and I have a positive disposition.”

-P.L.

Before I started treatment, I felt like I was on a rollercoaster. After completing my course I feel more even.

-C.L.

Before starting TMS treatment at SoCal TMS I was sad, lethargic, and feeling down. I had low energy, struggled with motivation to do things, and had very troubled sleep.
Now, I feel normal. I feel renewed, happy, and energetic. I am sleeping much better. I don’t cry now when thinking of my daughter going to college. After TMS, I am ready to take on life!”

– Christina

When I started TMS treatment at SoCal TMS, I was so ill that I could not stay out of bed for more than a couple of hours. I was not eating and not able to care for my own personal needs. Since completing treatment, my mood is better. Although I still get sad, I am more involved with people and activities in my life.”

– KW


I have had depression for the last 20 years and despite therapy and medication, I still had depression. Within the first 2 weeks I felt a difference. I literally do not feel like the same person. I feel like I have a second chance at life. I feel like the depression was just a bad dream. All the staff have been super positive and made every treatment easy and fun. While it is uncomfortable, it’s worth it.

I was terrified of starting treatment because I was afraid that it would not work, and I would be trapped in a half life where I function with the constant depression. Be brave and take the treatment, and stick with it! I feel as if everything changed. I now have clarity and actually feel settled inside.”

-K.D.


Looking forward and ahead to a fun filled, energetic life.

[Before TMS], I was very depressed and hopeless.  No motivation and isolated.  Horribly in pain, and unhappy.  Major anxiety.

[After TMS treatment I am feeling} great!  The TMS is amazing and a gift!  It changes everything!  The anxiety is gone, I’m happy and hopeful and spending time with friends again.  Looking forward and ahead to a fun filled, energetic life.

-Julie


Before TMS I had trouble moving. I just wanted to stay at home, sit on the couch and nap. Then I would criticize myself for my inactivity. Since completing treatment, I still have trouble with motivation, but I am able to deal with it better. I am no longer hopeless, and I have a better perspective on life. I don’t feel like I need to get home, I enjoy being with people more. I feel now I am able to use tools to improve my life.

-N.E.


Before I started treatment, I was always in a bad mood and feeling low. I was always isolating and had little desire to do anything and interact with other people. Although sometimes I get sad,  since completing treatment, my mood is much better. I am doing more with people and doing more activities in my life.”

-Nayeli


Before TMS I was regularly depressed. Daily activities were often a real struggle. I also had bouts of anxiety. Getting through the day took enormous amounts of energy. Since completing TMS I am much more energetic and focused. I am hopeful and looking forward to achieving more in my daily life.”

– N.E.


Before starting TMS my baseline depression/anxiety was around a 6 or 7 out of 10, with 10 being the worst. Now I’m down to a 3! I feel more resilient and I am able to handle life’s little challenges with less fear. I feel more hopeful. Thank you, SoCal TMS techs for caring and for the encouragement! Thank you Doctors at SoCal TMS for your care and help!”

-Melissa


Every day was a battle. To get out of bed, get a shower and get dressed. Things that other people do with ease. Thoughts of being worthless and life being dull. I would think not living is so much easier than living with my depression. Every day I would have to somehow convince myself that it will get better.

I wouldn’t say I’m cured by any means. Things are easier, I thought I can get out of bed without having a pep talk and no thoughts of suicide which is abnormal for me now that I have more control. I don’t feel hopeless.

-Terrance


I thought I was living as everyone did. I mean, I knew I was depressed but I didn’t really know what that meant. I would spend days in bed. I would pick fights because I felt like things were going poorly. I had lost hope and I didn’t even know it.

Now I feel like a different version of myself. I can tell a bad situation from a good one and turn away from it without feeling like a failure. I get out of the house. I get excited. I feel amazing and I can’t believe that this happiness was missing my entire life.

-Maragret


Prior to starting TMS treatment, I had absolutely no energy to do simple everyday tasks, such as going to the grocery store or running errands. I isolated myself from friends, family, and preferred not to engage in social activities. I was apathetic about life. I had bouts of fear, anxiety, negative thoughts and felt hopeless about finding joy.

After TMS, I now have a lot more energy to do the things that I enjoy now. My life has happiness, meaning, and a sense of fulfillment. I’m not isolating from others, instead I’m embracing the fullness of life. You don’t have to suffer alone. Try TMS to help liberate you from the pain of depression.

-Lynelle


Before TMS therapy, I was very depressed. Felt hopeless with no energy. No motivation to do anything and did not enjoy any activities. Always in a fog. It was so difficult to concentrate. I had a very hard time making a simple grocery list and I cried all the time. I remember wishing I was dead instead.

Now I feel great! Very happy, alive, with tons of energy. I can also focus, make decisions and overall very productive. I’m making plans again, spending time with family and friends. Truly enjoying life. What also was a tremendous help in my recovery were the amazing techs.

-Hensha


I was referred to SoCal TMS by my psychiatrist at Kaiser when the symptoms of my severe depression and anxiety were not being adequately controlled by medication alone. I have a long family history of mental illness in my family, and I have suffered with intermittent depression, anxiety, and OCD since I was a child. At 48 years old, and suffering this most recent and severe episode, I was looking for anything that might help. My father, a retired psychiatrist with 44 years of experience, told me about TMS and suggested I asked my psychiatrist about the procedure. Within two weeks I began my 36-session treatment at SoCal TMS.

I have now completed my TMS treatments and I am virtually free of depression and anxiety Although I have been on medication, seeing an LCSW counselor weekly, and have been in groups, etc., I am quite confident that my treatment at SoCal TMS played a significant role in the extent and speed of my recovery. All staff were kind, professional, flexible with scheduling, and always willing to discuss concerns. I could not have asked for a better experience during this harrowing experience. I now have hope for my future and plans in place to maintain more positive mental health. I enthusiastically recommend SoCal TMS to anyone who meets their criteria for treatment.

– Jeffrey


Before TMS, most moments were really difficult. I wasn’t sleeping right, had virtually no appetite, didn’t want to do anything, had horrible bursts of anxiety and panic, thought about death many times per day and was emotionally disconnected to my loved ones even though I didn’t want to be. I intellectually knew that life was worth living but I didn’t feel that way. Talking myself into staying alive was a daily and nightly battle. Everything felt like it was in black and white.

It’s like a new lease on life because I feel like I can be my full self! I’m closer to my kids than I have ever been and have the energy to do things with them. My sense of humor is back and life feels beautiful! When I had a stressful day or something bad/sad happens it’s now easy to bounce back. I’m starting to pursue things I’ve been interested in, like dancing, kayaking with my family, and moving forward in my career so I can help others. Change isn’t scary anymore. I have an excitement about the future and am grateful for life each morning that I open my eyes. Life is now in “full color”! TMS was instrumental in my recovery from chronic depression and I’m so glad I was able to receive this treatment! I will be forever grateful for the kind care I was met with at Dr. Hutton’s SoCal TMS Center.”

-Anna


I was frustrated and starting to feel hopeless about finding a way out of depression. I had really low energy and a lot of irritability to the point that it started affecting my most important relationships.

Now, I feel more able to live in the present and to appreciate the good parts of my life rather than fixating on the negative ones. My emotions are much more stable now and I’m not constantly awaiting the next mood swing.
Besides the clinical effects of treatment I feel like the warm and caring environment provided by Paula and Yesenia helped my mood lift. They made me feel safe and comfortable throughout the entirety of my treatment journey.

– Elenie


Before TMS, every day I thought of death. Waking up was a pure disappointment. I had several suicide attempts in the past years and had also some at 12 and 16. My life was always surrounded by a deep, dark cloud I could not see or explain. I’m married to a wonderful man, have 3 healthy children while not wealthy, we are comfortable. There would be no reason in reality to feel this way – but I had all my life.

After TMS therapy, it’s as if someone took the dark cloud away and switched on a beautiful light. I’m still progressing every day. Suicidal thoughts are gone and I actually have hope for the first time in my life. My family is blown away by the change and I know this is my life’s greatest blessing. Without TMS (Joann, Dr. D. Elian, Stephanie, Chris and Yesenia) I’d still be in that deep dark pit with no escape and still constantly thinking of suicide. TMS has saved my life and that is not an understatement.

-Joanna


Before I started TMS treatment, I am suffering from severe depression. My world was filled with blackness, despair, and negativity. I felt like a lamp that someone had unplugged from the wall. I had no motivation, no desire, and no interest in doing anything. I didn’t want to interact with anyone. Some days, I could hardly get out of bed. I couldn’t concentrate. I couldn’t do my job. I could hardly function. It was a struggle just to get through the day. I had tried nearly every antidepressant available. They didn’t help much or did nothing but make things worse due to side effects. Therapy wasn’t much help either. I felt like I had done everything I could and had little hope of ever getting better.

After completing my TMS treatment, I feel like a new person. I feel so much better. The transformation was truly profound. The difference was like night and day. After so long, my depression was finally gone. I felt like I had been plugged back in. Suddenly, light was in my life again. It was like I had gone from a black and white world into one in full vibrant color. I had a much more positive outlook on life. I could get up every day, go to work, go out with friends, and just enjoy life’s simple pleasures. I felt so much more like myself.I had the full range of emotions again. I’ve been in psychiatric treatment for 25 years. After TMS, I can honestly say that this is the first time that I finally feel “normal” again. I am so thankful to TMS for giving me my life back. To anyone who is struggling with depression and considering treatment, I wholeheartedly recommend TMS treatment. You have nothing to lose and so much to gain.

-Steven


When my psychiatrist first suggested TMS, I was hesitant. I have suffered from depression and anxiety most of my life and I didn’t really believe anything was going to help. I’ve been through more medications than I can remember, but nothing ever worked well long-term. So it was with little hope that I walked through the doors of Southern California TMS Center in Pasadena. The doctor and his team evaluated me and set up a treatment plan. I still wasn’t sure TMS could do anything to ease the depression and anxiety, but I stuck with it.

The TMS treatment has been amazing. After a couple of weeks I started to feel the depression lift and the anxiety ease. It was hard to believe what was happening, but as I finished the treatment the results have continued to be more positive. My friends have noticed that I seem different. They have said I’m more engaged and seem more positive. Everything was dark before the treatment. I felt hopeless and wasn’t truly living life. Now I feel lighter. I feel a sense of hope in life that I didn’t think was possible. It’s hard to explain. I don’t feel the constant weight of depression or the disabling anxiety that had consumed me. I am so grateful that I gave TMS a chance. The results have been unbelievable.
The doctor and all of the techs are incredible. They eased my concern and made the experience positive. Everyone was kind, supportive and understanding. They made the process so much easier.
TMS treatment has given me a healing that I didn’t believe was possible. If anyone is considering TMS treatment, I would encourage you to try it. It has made a significant difference in my life.

-Gina


I suffered from chronic depression for many years. No medications helped and some had unpleasant side effects or made it works.

After about 8 weeks of treatment, I feel dramatically better. It seemed to come suddenly and a little longer than expected but worth the extra treatments.

-Robert


Before TMS therapy, I was anxious, depressed and suffered from OCD. Afraid to go to social events and interacting with others.

I haven’t experienced much improvements  yet, but I was very satisfied with the service and help from the doctors, nurses and technicians from SoCal TMS. I just wish I had a better report.

-Nicholas


TMS helped me set a daily routine such that I felt more productive and functional even before the treatment helped lessen my depression thoughts. The drowsiness was somewhat difficult to manage, but with the support and flexibility of the SoCal TMS staff, I managed to show up to the daily treatment and reap the benefits thereof. Now the sadness and lethargy that consumed my days before TMS are manageable and I feel very hopeful for the future.

-Sophie


TMS has been life-changing. Before treatment, my depression reached an all-time high and I was at the lowest point in my life. I didn’t feel a difference in my mood for the first 2 weeks, then it felt like someone flipped the switch. The darkness started to fade and I began to see my future become brighter. My family and friends started to recognize me again.

My history with headaches and migraines did present a small challenge towards the beginning, however, over time it did get better. Other than headaches, my treatment was smooth. I am grateful to TMS, the staff and Dr. Schneider absolutely amazing!”

-AJA


My name is Christine and I started seeing Dr. Todd Hutton on 07/27/05. Dr. Hutton diagnosed me with bipolar disorder.  I was very sick with depression before coming to Dr. Hutton. I tried to kill myself several times and was not successful. My life had no hope or zest. I took medication for my depression. There were times the medication worked, but the medication did not always work. When I was deeply depressed, most of the time I would stay in bed and did not care about my appearance. I would not eat well either. Interacting with other people was extremely difficult for me also. In five years I have been admitted to the Psychiatric Hospital twenty-two times for major depression and suicidal thoughts. The good news is that I have only been admitted to the Psychiatric Hospital twice in the past two years with very short stays. Dr. Hutton introduced me to Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation (TMS). My life has changed dramatically and I am happy when I arise in the morning. I feel positive about my day and have plans to become employed once again. If it wasn’t for the treatments of (TMS) which Dr. Hutton made possible for me, I would not be alive today due to my chronic depression.”

-Christine


Dr. Hutton and his entire team are the most incredible human beings I’ve ever met. Anyone and everyone I’ve met through So Cal TMS has been beyond helpful, caring, understanding, knowledgeable……..you name it. My first tech, Tracy, is now someone I call a friend. We’ve stayed in touch since my first treatment in 2016, and she is always my biggest cheerleader. She’s my “go to” girl when I don’t know where to start, and you would never know how busy this woman is – she never slows down! But she always makes time for me, and I’m sure every single one of her other patients. Dr. Hutton has helped me personally in ways that I could never thank him enough for, and truly takes the doctors oath of “first do no harm” even farther – he does above and beyond for so many people, and it’s because he cares. Dr. Debnath (Dr. D) was my “go to” doc for my first two treatments, but wasn’t in the California the last time. I got to talk to him “on the phone screen” a week or so ago, and it was like seeing an old friend. We talked about my progress through the first treatments, and he still remembered so many of my “AH HA” moments. None of these people treat you like a patient with a number. They treat you like a person they care about, and want to help. And that’s not just at the time, it’s forever – at least for me. Rebecca was my tech for my last treatment, and thankfully she is again this time. Same thing – haven’t seen her in two years and we were talking like we just spoke yesterday. The kindness, caring, and compassion these people have is beyond important. I have always appreciated the care and treatment I’ve received from So Cal TMS, but today I realized it’s way beyond that – I’ve formed relationships in ways with all of these people. I am their patient, but they have always made me feel like I’m a person they want to help, and care about – not a number. I’ve shared all of what I consider to be the ugliest parts of myself with these people – when I hated everything about who I was – and they have never once judged me. All they’ve ever done is support me, listen, and help.”

-Pamela Reay


Before TMS, I was very depressed. I was not enjoying life and was feeling tired all the time.

After being treated by SoCal TMS, the depression has lifted significantly. I have much more energy and can enjoy life now.

-Michael


This treatment was long but very easy. I feel better and that’s what counts. I had no side effects at all!

-Jesusa


Before TMS I couldn’t make it more than a few days (sometimes hours) without using drugs or alcohol to self-medicate. I had no friends and actively avoided making connections with others. I was almost always irritable and defensive and only felt joy when high or drunk.

Now I am (mostly) sober, drinking no more than 1-2 drinks 2x a week. I have stopped doing drugs as a result of treatment and I hope to continue this streak of sobriety as long as I can. I feel happy and hopeful for the future.”

 -Ishpal


I was feeling very depressed, anxious, and had lots of suicidal thoughts before starting TMS treatment. Unable to finish at a normal level, academically, socially, professionally and even personally. Always sad and overwhelmed.

Now my suicidal thoughts are less frequent. Still struggle with depressed and anxious feelings but better at working through them. Functioning a little better but still not near a “normal” level.

 -Julia


I will be forever grateful for the kind care I was met with at Dr. Hutton’s TMS Center.

[Before TMS], most moments were really difficult. I wasn’t sleeping right, had virtually no appetite, didn’t want to do anything, had horrible bursts of anxiety and panic, thought about death many times per day and was emotionally disconnected to my loved ones even though I didn’t want to be. I intellectually knew that life was worth living but I didn’t feel that way. Talking myself into staying alive was a daily and nightly battle. Everything felt like it was in black and white.

[Now, after TMS treatment], it’s like I have a new lease on life because I feel like I can be my full self! I’m closer to my kids than I have ever been and have the energy to do things with them. My sense of humor is back and life feels beautiful! When I have a stressful day or something bad/sad happens it’s now easy to bounce back. I’m starting to pursue things I’ve been interested in, like dancing, kayaking with my family, and moving forward in my career so I can help others. Change isn’t scary anymore. I have an excitement about the future and am grateful for life each morning that I open my eyes. Life is now in “full color”!

TMS was instrumental in my recovery from chronic depression and I’m so glad I was able to receive this treatment! I will be forever grateful for the kind care I was met with at Dr. Hutton’s TMS Center.”

-Abby. D.


I was sad most every day, the smallest things would make me cry. I felt like my time here on earth was not needed. My job here was done. I raised my son who became a lawyer, I saw my two beautiful grandchildren. What else was them for me to do. I was tired of taking care of myself, house, car and it seemed just too much for me.

I am so much happier. I seem to be able to handle my day to day things much better. I am less confrontational with people, especially with my son. I am not crying every day. I look forward to tomorrow.

I was not sure if the Dr. would be good for me, but she has been wonderful, the best I have seen and I have seen many. Also, the staff was great!

-Carol


I was suicidal, would not have lived, I think without the TMS.

Now I feel better than I have in years. I feel “lighter” in my brain.

-Lynn


I was feeling very depressed, had difficulty functioning, no energy or interest in doing anything.

After TMS treatment, I have less depression and anxiety. Able to function and my energy is improving.

-Lynne


Before TMS I felt tired, very depressed and unable to work full time.

Now I have had several days where the depression has lifted and I felt like myself again. Unfortunately, this feeling didn’t last. I do believe I feel less tired than I used to.

-Kimberly


Before starting TMS, my life was very hard to deal with, but with God I made it! At the time I didn’t even know that he was there in my life!

After TMS, by the grace of God, I am feeling like a new person. I am feeling great. I am glad that God did not let me kill myself.

-Linda


I was extremely depressed. Several thoughts of wanting to die. Crying a lot. Feelings of hopelessness.

Now I feel hopeful and positive for my present & future. I no longer have thoughts of dying. I have a more positive outlook on my life.

-Darcy


Before starting TMS, I was very depressed with some anxiety.

Now, my depression has been greatly reduced. Anxiety significantly reduced.

-John


Before TMS, I felt hopeless, tired at the end of my hope. I would have rated my anxiety + depression at a 9 or 10.

I definitely feel different in a positive way. I feel my ability to cope or deal with my bouts of depression are much better. If I were to rate my anxiety + depression level now I would place it between 4 & 6. Given my personal situation has not improved at all I can only attribute my mental improvement to TMS.”

-Charles


I felt like I was treading water and made little progress at work or at home, causing me to be overwhelmed and hopeless. This would create more anxiety because I could not focus. I would become agitated and it was on overall circle of despair at times.

The TMS creates a “cleaning” that I feel works well for me versus medication that I only masks my anxiety and depression on a temporary basis. The TMS clears the fog and I feel is also caused by my thyroid issues. It is a commitment but well worth it.

-Deborah


I had re-ocurring gloomy feeling that never seemed to go away. It was difficult to enjoy life or get excited about very much. I suffered more when the days were gloomy and didn’t really look forward to much.

After TMS, I feel generally happy again. Noticed that I smile & laugh more often & have a zest for life. I enjoy spending time with friends & family and no longer feel sad when the weather is gloomy. TMS really helped.”

-Dell


Before I started TMS therapy, I was depressed, listless, hopeless. Random fits of crying and spending much of my days in bed. Meds had been of limited value and therapy of virtually no value.

TMS has been, in many ways, a life-saver. I have more energy, I do not sleep as much. I am able to get more work done and stress less. I thought nothing would be able to really help me, but TMS has made my life much better. I am very grateful for this technology. The staff here is wonderful.

-Fred

On December 23rd, I woke up happy for the first time in over a year!
I was diagnosed with major depressive disorder about 16 years ago. To say it has been struggle is an understatement. I’ve traveled on a very bumpy road that many people, include my friends and even close family members, didn’t know I was on. My ability to act like “all was good in my life” became perfected, and the mask I wore kept me safe. Medication has helped me have some relief. But every 2-3 years my symptoms return and seem to get worse. Losing interest in activities, sleeping 12-14 hours a night, inability to think clearly, memory loss, and hopelessness are some signs that my depression has returned.

For about a year, maybe longer, these symptoms returned and I honestly didn’t know what to do. As I sat in the waiting room for my therapy appointment, I saw a flyer for a treatment called TMS (Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation), which is a magnet that stimulates the area of the brain that is inactive. Since my insurance paid for the treatment and I was almost out of options having tried 9 or 10 different antidepressants, I thought why not give it a try. After having 31 treatments since 11/16, I can honestly say that I am happy I feel hopeful again. I have energy. I don’t sleep the weekend away. I know that I’m putting myself out there by telling my story, but I’m so tired of the negative stigma that surrounds mental illness. If sharing my story can help one person, the uncertainty I’m feeling for being so vulnerable is worth it.
Thanks for reading.

TMS made me happy again


TMS Gave me my life back

How you were before TMS treatment:

Before TMS, I had descended so far into the “hole” of depression that escape seemed absolutely impossible. To say I felt hopeless would be a massive understatement. Some days would consist almost entirely of lying in bed, lamenting the indisputable fact that I would never overcome depression. Talk therapy and antidepressants seemed to take the edge off a bit – sometimes – but I was still utterly miserable, and had been for the better part of a decade. TMS seemed like an (expensive and time-consuming) item to check off on the long list of therapies that wouldn’t really work for me.

How you are feeling now after TMS treatment:

It’s still astonishing to me, but the best way I can describe my state of mind after TMS is…not depressed. My energy, mood, and resilience have all returned to what they were in those long-ago times before I fell into the grip of depression. Life still has its ups and downs, sure, but I can handle these in a way that feels healthy and appropriate. Hobbies that barely held my interest before have become deeply rewarding again. I’m more relaxed and confident at work. In short, I’m “me” again. TMS gave me my life back. I thought that was far beyond the realm of possibility. I’ve never been so wrong in my life, and I’m thrilled about it!

Aaand, I’m just gonna throw in my own question here too, just for kicks…

How was your experience at Southern California TMS Center?

I can’t speak highly enough of the staff and environment at SoCal TMS. I always experience anxiety in hospitals and doctor’s offices, but here I felt relaxed and welcome. I can honestly say that on my last day of treatment, I was sad I wouldn’t be seeing the technicians on a regular basis anymore! Not to mention the fact that scheduling and billing were made incredibly easy, and the nearest location was right down the street from me.

-Joe (Joseph) C


I was feeling heavy, anhedonia, low energy and will. Discouraged and feeling heavy weight.

Now I am a bit more encouraged, enjoying more things. Hoping for an upturn in my mood.

-Brett


I was very anxious, often felt hopeless, worried about lack of energy after work, slept badly almost every night.

Now I am getting better sleep regularly, more productive on weekends, more in touch with emotions, feel sad about specific things but not overwhelmed. Looking forward to more improvements.

-Carol


I was absolutely at the rock bottom. I have lived with depression most of my life. Its caused terrible chaos. But in the past few years – devastating. No family, friends. Having to leave job. Suicide attempt. Then continuing hopelessness despite years of therapy, medication and various programs.

I came to TMS out of desperation. I can honestly say that as of now 2 1/2 months later- it is nothing short of a miracle. With the help of a wonderful staff and support of a friend and some family. I feel hopeful again. Lighter. Able to start to live a life worth living. This is the best decision I’ve made in a long time. Thank you to all.”

-Angela


I have spent a long, long time managing lifetime depression, but it was always there to trigger rumination and depression from event or even in sleep. I wanted to see if there was any way to relieve that part and was referred here. I’ve struggled with depression for 60 years.

I now sleep the night without waking with bad ruminations which could make the next day miserable. I’m far less irritable, an unexpected result but mainly the “pall” is gone. The professionalism and diagnostic skills of Dr. Debnath and staff are excellent.”

-Byron


FOLLOWING ARE EXCERPTS FROM PATIENT’S JOURNAL

October 11, 2011:  This is the day before I start the TMS program. I am a little nervous…but I am determined to do whatever it takes. .. My mind went crazy with all kinds of negative thoughts, like something will happen to prevent the treatment, my car won’t start,  I won’t be able to find the office. I realized that maybe I am so used to being depressed maybe my mind is just playing out the negative.

October 25, 2011:  Last night I slept for a little over 7 hours, this has not happened in well over 25 years. No matter what meds I took the most that I was able to sleep was 4 to 5 hours. It is my goal to sleep without meds and soon I will be starting a very slow taper of the xanax from 1 miligram a night to zero.

October 28, 2011:  Finished second week of TMS. Everybody who knows me is asking what did I do to end the depression and when I tell them several people have approached me wanting to go with me to see if it will work for them.

November 1, 2011:  I am continuing to improve daily. I just can’t wait to get going in the morning.”

-Mike


I will be forever grateful for the kind care I was met with at Dr. Hutton’s TMS Center.

[Before TMS], most moments were really difficult. I wasn’t sleeping right, had virtually no appetite, didn’t want to do anything, had horrible bursts of anxiety and panic, thought about death many times per day and was emotionally disconnected to my loved ones even though I didn’t want to be. I intellectually knew that life was worth living but I didn’t feel that way. Talking myself into staying alive was a daily and nightly battle. Everything felt like it was in black and white.

[Now, after TMS treatment], it’s like I have a new lease on life because I feel like I can be my full self! I’m closer to my kids than I have ever been and have the energy to do things with them. My sense of humor is back and life feels beautiful! When I have a stressful day or something bad/sad happens it’s now easy to bounce back. I’m starting to pursue things I’ve been interested in, like dancing, kayaking with my family, and moving forward in my career so I can help others. Change isn’t scary anymore. I have an excitement about the future and am grateful for life each morning that I open my eyes. Life is now in “full color”!

TMS was instrumental in my recovery from chronic depression and I’m so glad I was able to receive this treatment! I will be forever grateful for the kind care I was met with at Dr. Hutton’s SoCal TMS Center.”

-Mrs. D
Inland Empire , CA




Just a few weeks ago, I was spending my days too tired or depressed to do much and would often sleep for several hours in the afternoon; something that had been far too common since my teens. The TMS treatments and care that I received at SoCalTMS has healed the depression I’ve experienced for most of my life by giving me more energy, a more positive outlook on life, and the interest to do things I have always wanted to try; I started to ride my mountain bike just a couple weeks into treatment, which had been sitting unused for 20 years, and tried rock climbing for the first time just yesterday. I am a 55 year old, single woman. While it’s true I’ve ‘lost’ a lot of my life to this, I understand, now, that having depression is not ‘my fault’ and I do not need to blame myself for not being able to ‘just snap out of it’. While TMS is not a cure-all for other emotional issues I still have to deal with, it certainly has lifted the veil and given me the belief and energy to deal with them and to better cope with my life as it is now, as well as restoring a positive outlook for my future. Joann Gadsky was amazing as the intake coordinator, who arranged for the insurance reviews and along with Dr. Hutton got me covered through my plan in what was ground breaking for my insurance company. Dr. Hutton’s kind and professional manner allowed me to feel safe and well supervised. The techs who treated me were caring and put my needs first; the office and business staff made everything run smoothly. The results of the TMS treatments met all the expectations I was told up front and I couldn’t have asked for a better all-around experience when dealing with such a sensitive issue as my mental health than what I received at SoCal TMS.

-55 YEAR OLD FEMALE PATIENT, LOS ANGELES, CA


I have struggled with depression for 15 years. I’ve been in and out of therapy and treatment centers. I’ve been on more medications than I can remember. I was so desperate at one point, that I tried IV Ketamine treatments. I came out to California from Dallas for Residential Treatment, and I heard about TMS. I didn’t expect for it to work. It sounded crazy but I was willing to try it, since it was non-invasive and wouldn’t have the side effects of ECT. It has completely changed my life. I don’t ever remember feeling this much like myself. The cloud that had been hanging over me has lifted. I have been able to go off of several medications, and I have hope for my future. I have goals and I know that with hard work I can achieve them. I’m still in therapy and on medication, but because of TMS, I am making progress in areas of my life that I wrote off years ago. The best part has been positive feedback from my parents. They are proud of me and how far I’ve come. I am grateful they have stuck by me and supported me on my journey. I am also grateful to Dr. Eric Levander, Southern California TMS Centers, and Stephanie Vergara for their support and encouragement throughout this process. It hasn’t always been easy, but it has been the most rewarding experience of my life.

– Brittany E


I have suffered with chronic depression for nine years. Each day was worse than the next. I felt lonely, sad, joyless, irrational, and I couldn’t enjoy the things I used to. I truly felt as if I had no soul. It was the worst pain I had ever endured. As my depression worsened, I couldn’t get out of bed, much less hold a job. My life felt hopeless and thoughts of suicide dominated my mind every day. I tried every medicine you could think of and none of them helped. The process of going from one medicine to the next, without any progress made life feel even more hopeless. The side effects of these medicines were terrible. One of them even sent me to the hospital.

Knowing that medicines were not going to help, I sought the help of my family and they led me to Dr. Hutton and his wonderful staff for TMS treatment. This treatment was like no other that I was aware of. Over the time that I did TMs treatments, I gradually started to feel better. The TMS treatments were painless and did not have any side effects. By the end of the treatments I felt joy, happiness and clarity. I truly felt like myself again and I got my life back.

Dr. Hutton and his staff were understanding of my feelings and condition throughout the entire process. With the TMS treatment and their caring nature, they were able to make me whole again. They provided me with a remedy and a wonderful experience. I would recommend this treatment for anyone who suffers with chronic depression.

-Keith


I can recall being depressed since a young child. I’ve never felt like I am truly “happy.” Even after my marriage and birth of my two children. I’d have some type of relapse. It wasn’t until my 32nd birthday that I truly felt hopeless; as though there would never be an end to my misery so I checked in to a hospital for help. Then was I given actual diagnosis of major depression, bipolar disorder and panic/anxiety disorder. I began taking medications and although they’d help for a while, I always fell back into deep depression. I was told about TMS by doctor and gave it a try… it helped much and I thought “Great this is it!” But I guess because I didn’t continue with maintenance I felt ill again. Fast forward 8 years later for my 40th birthday I felt extremely desperate again. I felt what has changed in my life? Major depression and anxiety set in again and I didn’t want to be hospitalized anymore. I don’t want my children remembering me in and out of the hospital. Luckily TMS was an option again!

This time around, its been great! I’ve even said to everyone I feel better than the first round of treatments. I feel that I am comfortable in my own self. I do not feel depressed and can actually feel at ease being around others. Just the other day, my children, husband and I were watching a comedy movie and I laughed out loud. My 11 year old so said, “Mommy I’ve never heard you laugh like that.” I couldn’t help but feel guilty because my illness has affected them as well, but I also vowed to myself to always remember that and keep trying to be free spirited for their sake. The staff at Southern California TMS Center Pasadena are wonderful! They are all very friendly and optimistic and I love that they treat you with kindness and respect. I almost always brought my children with me and they were also treated very well. I would highly recommend TMS to anyone with depression, although improvement may not be felt immediately it seriously helps with time. It offers hope!

-Esmeralda G.


A.V., THIS TESTIMONIAL ABOUT TMS WAS SUBMITTED BY AN ACTUAL PATIENT TO PALMETTO, THE MEDICARE INTERMEDIARY

I am (A.V.), a female age 76. I have suffered with major depression for the past 5 years. My symptoms were debilitating. I could not function doing every day tasks such as washing dishes, cooking meals, shopping or making decisions. The grocery store frightened me. I have had tremors on my hand; therefore I could not drive to do this. My husband had driven me to doctor’s appointments, etc. I also had extreme mood changes like I cursed for up to an hour at a time. I had some periods of remission for one month to up to 3 months where my symptoms were gone and I was my normal self.
I am so appreciative of Dr. Todd Hutton for his caring and kind manner. The TMS Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation really worked. His staff were most helpful when the device was put on my head. I am now back to my volunteering duties, attending board meetings, and enjoying my family. This breakthrough came after 17 sessions on this therapy. I hope you will consider having this therapy available for all depression prone people who are on Medicare. I had saved for a year so I would be able to pay the cost because my HMO Kaiser did not approve of this therapy. We are seniors on a fixed income.
I thank you in advance for considering this therapy.


Dear Lauren and Dr. Hutton,

I want to thank you for saving my life, literally not figuratively.

I have suffered from major depression for more years than I care to think about. I’ve tried talk therapy, CBT, all sorts of medications, I had been hospitalized a couple of years ago, and nothing seemed to be helping me feel any better. I was rapidly running out of options and was unsure if I could keep up the fight. My therapist, Dr. Paul Fick, suggested to my wife and I that we look into TMS, and he gave us your information.

We went into the treatment knowing that not everybody has the same results. We were hoping for the best, but had our expectations set much lower out of fear.

The treatments were very easy to tolerate, and, because of Lauren, not at all uncomfortable.

I feel like a completely different person. I have been able to engage with friends and family again, and have actually been able to focus on the future, for the first time in a very long time.  My family and I are extremely happy with the results, and wish more people had access to this treatment.  I would be happy to talk to anyone you feel would benefit from my story.  It truly is a new life.

Thank you all for giving it back to me.

– William S.


BEFORE TMS, I DIDN’T KNOW WHAT NORMAL WAS…

I have struggled with depression and anxiety for 10 years. At certain points my struggles threatened to unravel all that I had worked for: a college education, a solopreneurial design business, my ability to keep a relationship, and most importantly: my will to live.

I was at the point where I had seen the pattern of destruction that my depression and anxiety had caused and I didn’t feel that my life was going to be worth living.

I spoke with Joann at the Southern California TMS Center and made a consultation. I soon began treatment. Part way through the treatment plan I started responding to the stimulation. By the end of the treatment I felt like a different person. I have tried many other treatments: cognitive therapies, dietary changes, meditation, exercise, and various different psychiatric medications. TMS therapy has made by far the greatest change. Before TMS I didn’t know what normal was, but now I consider myself a “normal” person. I still have ups and downs but my mood doesn’t define how I feel about the future or ruin my ability to function. I’m able to let things go and I feel like my experience in life is grounded. My situation is the same as it was prior to the treatment, but how I feel about it has changed. I’m okay with my life and I have the energy needed to move forward. It is like there was another me locked away somewhere and TMS has let that other me loose.

My personality comes out in situations where I once had too much anxiety to fully express what I wanted to say. I’m far less on edge and have less overall anxiety. An unexpected effect of the treatment is an improvement in how I handle loud noises and startling sounds. Before the treatment I would have a difficult time standing near street intersections because the sound of traffic was too much for me to process. I’m still sensitive to noise, but I now have the ability to let loud noises fade into the background.

Southern California TMS Center has been a life changing experience and I encourage those who may benefit from TMS therapy to look into receiving treatment. The staff is friendly and Dr. Hutton is an expert with the treatment. The time commitment, cost, and temporary discomfort in my head were definitely worth the trouble. I would have gone through just about anything to have a change at a normal life, luckily TMS was what it took.

A.L.,
Oct. 10, 2016
Pasadena, CA


I KNOW IT WORKS AND I KNOW IT’S REAL!

No one can understand depression unless they’ve been there. I was there for 20 years, half my life.
I was a shell of a human being, completely empty and void of feeling, nothing made me happy, and nothing gave me enjoyment; not even my children. I woke up with the feeling of dread year after year and went through the motions of everyday life with my mind full of sadness and my brain battling against itself, all the time. Because there was nothing inside me, I put up a facade and faked my way through everything to survive.

Multiple doctors and almost every medication available could not “fix” me. I wanted to curl in a ball and live my life under the covers because it’s the only place I felt safe. I prayed that I would get cancer and die so the burden wouldn’t be on my shoulders. It’s a terrible life to live when you have no hope. I spent 20 years searching for anything that would make me feel something, and when I had reached the end of the line of medication, there were only alternative methods left.

Luckily my doctor was aware of TMS.

I finished 11 weeks of TMS and am mind blown at the change it has made to my life, I honestly feel it was a miracle for me. I wake up not fearing the day, I smile, I laugh, I actually have fun. I feel and it feels good. I still can’t believe that such a short treatment could make me live a happy, “normal” life. My friends and family can absolutely see the physical difference and tell me how much better I look, and that I seem so happy. TMS has given me a second chance at having an amazing and fulfilling life and a future to look forward too!

I know it works and I know it’s real!

Christa E. age 43


“I didn’t want to wake up. I was having a much better time asleep. And that’s really sad. It was almost like a reverse nightmare, like when you wake up from a nightmare you’re so relieved. I woke up into a nightmare.” – Ned Vizzini, It’s Kind Of A Funny Story

To anyone who can relate to the quotation above, my heart is with you. I have battled depression and anxiety since early adolescence (I’m age 33 as I sit here now) and I know the nightmare they truly are.

Over the years, I’ve tried to treat my mental illness with more medications than I can remember; I’ve spent countless hours (and thousands of dollars) sitting on various psychotherapists’ and psychiatrists’ couches; I’ve read numerous self-help books; I’ve stayed sober 15 years and worked the 12-Steps of Alcoholics Anonymous; and I attended a week-long workshop on codependence and childhood trauma. While all the treatments and modalities above have helped me at different times and to different extents, none of them treated my depression as profoundly as rTMS has.

Earlier this year, my depression took me to the darkest and most hopeless state of mind I’ve ever experienced. After a few “nervous breakdowns” (i.e. several days in a row in bed, in the fetal position, barely eating or communicating to my family, and not wanting to die but not wanting to be alive either), my psychiatrist leveled with me and told me that I was running out of medical treatment options. He said that because I’d already tried and failed almost every antidepressant on the market, if I didn’t take a more aggressive approach (stronger/older meds with more side effects, in-patient treatment, ECT, etc.) that my next severe depressive episode had the potential to be my last given my increasing suicidal ideation and inability to cope with day-to-day life.

Luckily, my psychiatrist knew about the potential benefits of rTMS and recommended I investigate it before we try any of the more aggressive treatments. He recommended I seek the treatment at UCLA (as that was the only treatment center he was aware of at the time), but the idea of having to drive to UCLA 5 days a week from North Hollywood and then deal with the bureaucracy of a giant hospital like that nearly sounded worse than the depression itself. So, with a quick Google search, I found the SoCal TMS website and discovered that they have a location in Sherman Oaks (much closer than UCLA) and that I wouldn’t have to deal with any of the hassle of a hospital environment. Within a few minutes I was on the phone with Joann and we set a time to meet for an initial consultation.

From the moment the consultation began, I knew I’d made the right choice. Joann made me feel comfortable with the process and put my mind at ease. Her optimism and hope were infectious and I couldn’t wait to get started with my treatments. I was a bit nervous about how the treatment would feel, but, in my experience, it wasn’t painful at all. It feels bizarre, that’s for sure; but it was never painful in any way for me.

Dr. Debnath, the psychiatrist who oversaw my treatment, is an excellent doctor. He is very thorough in his evaluations and it is obvious that he cares deeply about his patients’ wellbeing. He was always excited when my depression inventory scores went down and when I reported that I was feeling better. Thank you, Dr. Debnath, for your excellent care and for going above and beyond!

And then there’s Tracy Lynn, my rTMS technician/spiritual advisor. I will never know how to properly thank her for all she did for me. Her compassion is endless, her sense of humor is priceless, her optimism is inspiring, and her intuition, experience, and wisdom helped guide me through the most difficult period of my life. Tracy – thank you from the bottom of my heart. You truly helped save my life.

After 50 rTMS treatments, I can attest to the awesome power of this treatment. If you’re looking for a treatment that will make you want to skip down the street and maybe throw in some cartwheels, let me know if you find it! But, if you want to feel like you can face the world again without having to retreat to your bed in the fetal position, if you want the resilience to deal with some of the legitimate life problems you may have that would be challenging to any human being but incapacitating to someone who’s depressed, or if you want to regain the ability to slow down for a second and realize that everything is okay and that it’s alright to have some fun and feel some joy, then rTMS may be the answer for you.

My sincere hope is that if you are suffering from the relentless pain of depression that you can find the help and treatment you need, be it rTMS or otherwise. If you would like to know more about my treatment or about my experience with mental illness in general, I’d be happy to share my experience at any time with anyone.

Again, to everyone at SoCal TMS – thank you for my life.”

-Fondly, Brett D.


I CAN SAY CONFIDENTLY IT’S HELPED ME.

Everyone’s depression is unique to them. I generally gauge mine by how many knives I’m imagining stabbing me at any given time. One knife? Pretty average day. So many I can’t count them or stop thinking about it? Time to call the doctor again.

I’ve been on and off various medications at various doses for about 18 years. They’ve had various levels of effectiveness, less so over time. It becomes a battle with being miserable from side effects or being miserable because I’m not on enough medication. Something had to change.

When I learned about TMS online, I asked my social network if anyone I knew had tried it and one good friend said she had. It was easy to tell when because her life took a dramatic shift upward. I had read the stats (about 72% success), but hearing it from someone I knew was more reassuring. And if it didn’t work, at least my insurance covers most of the cost so I didn’t have a ton to lose.

So here I am, 7 weeks in and it’s night and day. For me it hit the 4th week when I had a good day and then another and another… I’d had a few ok days in the last month, but now it was actually good. People are noticing the change in me. But most importantly I’m noticing the change myself.

Here are some FAQ’s I often get from my friends when I tell them about this:

What does it feel like?
It’s like there is a little woodpecker in my head behind my eye. It goes for a few seconds then takes a long break, then goes again. My left eyebrow twitches a little and my teeth chatter a little.

Does it hurt?
I guess? Sort of? It’s not really happening long enough to bother me. I’d describe the sensation as technically painful, but the amount of time is so slight that it’s over before I really feel uncomfortable. If they turn up the juice, so to speak, it hurts a little more, but it’s still just as short an amount of time in each burst.

Are there side effects?
There were maybe 2-3 times in the beginning where I experienced a slight dissociative episode for less than an hour. Basically my hands felt like they were somehow in the wrong place or that I was a few millimeters out of alignment with my body. This is something I’ve experienced before during bad migraines or other times, so it wasn’t unfamiliar. I also had one migraine. Otherwise I’ve had no side effects that I was aware of.

When did you think it was really working?
After about a week and a half of solid good days in a row. I was cautiously optimistic, but going forward from there I had another week and another. So I can say confidently it’s helped me.

What has changed   for you?
Well,  pretty  early  on  the  self  injury  thoughts  went  away.   Then the next thing was I’d sometimes have an ok day or two. Then when I had a good day, I kept having good days. Instead of hating everything around me I loved everything around me. Instead of obsessing about my mood and my flaws, I started thinking about literally anything else. I started wanting things again. I started being able to work on my goals again. I went from not being able to bring myself to do anything, from hating myself, from shutting down entirely, to being an emotionally healthy person with dreams and self-confidence.”

L.V.,  June 30, 2016


Before TMS Treatment, I was just waiting for the next combination of medications to lose their effectiveness. I had no hope of ever not feeling this way.

Now I am surprised and so grateful that it worked! I feel like there is this new part of me, the NOT DEPRESSED ME, that im just now getting to know.

-Amber


Before TMS therapy I was very depressed, anxious and suicidal. Felt like I had nowhere to go and that I was at the end of my rope, easily the worst that I have been.

Much more calm and less depressed and anxious. No longer suicidal. Things are manageable and I feel happier.”

-Ashley


BEFORE TMS I COULD BARELY FUNCTION

I struggled to go to work and could hardly wait to get home. At home, I sat on the couch for hours, unable to do much at all. Going to work wiped out all my physical and mental energy. I spent weekends on the couch in front of the TV. I just couldn’t work up the energy to do anything. I was like this for 2 years. My negative thoughts consumed me!.

After TMS, I have felt such a positive charge! I have spent an entire day working in my yard, or doing things around the house. I come home after work and find myself busy and occupied – having the energy to do whatever I need to do. I want to get up off the couch. I ‘m able to push away the negative thoughts completely. I function better at work, spend time with friends, pursue my favorite hobbies and only sit on the couch when I want to!

-Michelle


MAN WHO LOST LEGS TO HEROIN RETURNS WITH NEW MISSION

Just months ago, Matthew came to The Doctors seeking the help he needed to finally turn his life around after losing both his legs due to his heroin struggles and battling years of substance abuse. He’s back to share his new mission in life.

Looking back on his appearance on the show in September, he saw himself as “a complete zombie, someone who was completely disconnected from life.” “Now, I feel full of life. I’m driven. I have goals that I’m trying to accomplish,” he shares.


MAN WHO LOST HIS LEGS TO HEROIN IS BACK ON OPIATES

After Matthew lost his legs from a heroin overdose, he experienced a lot of pain and doctors prescribed him more opiates! Can The Doctors help him get off his opioid prescription?

-Anna

GETTING UP AND TRYING EVERYDAY – ISAAC

How were you before TMS Treatment:  I was chronically hopeless and afraid, feeling like I was meaning the end of what I could endure.  I had no expectation that any treatment or medication could ever make any difference.  I felt that I had exhausted all options and that suicide was all that was left for me.  The depression was all-consuming and had taken over every aspect of my life.  There seemed no way out.

How are you feeling now after TMS treatment:  After TMS, I feel that I have returned to a sense of normalcy, a stability I had not felt for years.  It’s as though I can finally resume my life and move forward again.  I am no longer in my old cycle of self-destruction, collapsing in on myself.  Now I can return to being a son, a brother, a friend to the people I love, and more importantly, to love myself again.

-Isaac, Rancho Cucamonga


ENJOYING LIFE AND LOVE MORE! – JOHN

How were you before TMS Treatment:  Experiencing swings of deep depression, disorganized and procrastinating in dealings with life and issues, anxious and trouble sleeping often.  Periodic thoughts of suicide – wrapping up my life early.

How are you feeling now after TMS treatment:  More coherent and capable, dealing with many issues with more focus – and feeling lifted by my regular accomplishments.  Less depression by far and less anxious.  Feel resilient and not likely to fail.  Enjoying life and love more!”

-John S., 65 – West Los Angeles

GETTING UP AND TRYING EVERYDAY

How were you before TMS Treatment:  I slept all day, ignored people / things, and couldn’t get anything done on time.  I never thought about the consequences of my actions and was completely apathetic about life in general.

How are you feeling now after TMS treatment:  I don’t feel like I’m getting anything done, but I am getting up and trying everyday.  I guess I’m feeling slightly more hopeful about my future, but not about anything in particular.

-Laguna Niguel Patient


THIS TREATMENT SAVED MY LIFE AND MY MARRIAGE!

I was willing to try anything for my depression as all 17 drugs did very little or nothing.  I had heard about TMS a few years back, but could never get authorized until recently.  I showed up and it stung a little at first but soon after it was painless.  I was authorized 38 sessions but 25 sessions in I was losing hope in TMS, then one week out of nowhere I began to feel great and as they said was common, I felt horrible for a few weeks, but it passed.   I must say that this treatment saved my life and my marriage!  Dr. Hutton is caring and nice along with this staff.  Don’t give up and try this TMS, it may save your life!”
VINCENT HERNANDEZ


Before I started the TMS treatment I had no desire to do anything. I would constantly be thinking that I would be better off dead than to live the life I was living. I thought I had many health issues. I went to see a gastroenterologist, neurologist, family therapy, psychiatrics, an acupuncturist and much more. Nothing or no one was able to me! I spent most of my day in my room crying or sleeping. Now that I have finished the treatment I feel renewed. Many people have noticed the change in me and believe, as I do, that TMS has done miracles. I strongly recommend TMS. Don’t give up hope. Give yourself a chance LIVE, LOVE and LAUGH again!

-LN


Our experience with TMS has been phenomenal! My mother has lived with depression for over 20 years. In the last 3 years it seemed to get progressively worse. Medications were not working. In the last year I must have taken her to the ER three times for horrible headaches, dizziness, stomach pain, loss of appetite, back pain and much more. Each time the doctors would do a complete exam and conclude that there was nothing physically wrong. I felt hopeless each time I saw my mother. Her health was deteriorating and I could see she had no desire to do anything or live. Now after my mother has completed TMS treatment, my mom has regained her energy and most all of the symptoms she was having when I took her to the ER are gone. My mother now has the desire to live and enjoy life! I will be forever thankful for TMS and especially with ALL of the staff at So Cal TMS Center!”

-LN (PATIENT’S DAUGHTER)


SOCAL TMS PATIENT NEAL BRENNAN TALKS ABOUT HIS TMS EXPERIENCE ON THE DAILY SHOW

Comedian Neal Brennan chats one-on-one with Trevor Noah on the Daily Show about his history of depression and how TMS therapy “did more for my depression than anything ever has.

To see the full interview, click here:
http://www.cc.com/video-clips/9crtf6/the-daily-show-with-trevor-noah-neal-brennan—bringing-a-trio-of-identities-to–3-mics-


Before TMS I could barely function. I struggled to go to work and could hardly wait to get home. At home, I sat on the couch for hours, unable to do much at all. Going to work wiped out all my physical and mental energy. I spent weekends on the couch in front of the TV. I just couldn’t work up the energy to do anything I was like this for 2 years. My negative thoughts consumed me!

After TMS, I have felt such a positive change! I have spent an entire day working in my yard or doing things around the house. I come home after work and find myself busy and occupied – having the energy to do whatever I need to do. I want to get up off the couch. I am able to push away the negative thoughts completely. I function better at work, spend time with friends, pursue my favorite hobbies and only sit on the couch when I want to!

-Michelle


The difference in my husband is night and day. He’s back!
-PATIENT’S WIFE


A SOCAL TMS PATIENT BLOG:

Follow one of our TMS patient’s share their experience:

http://www.mybeautybunny.com/method-reduce-anxiety


TMS treatment has substantially helped me cope with depression. I had been seeing many different psychiatrists, tried nearly all the SSRIs and SNRIs with little improvement. I tried Ketamine Therapy, being told that it was almost a miracle treatment, but it did little to help. You need to be patient with TMS therapy. It took about 30 treatments for it to have an effect, but when it did, it was substantial. TMS, in conjunction with regular psychiatric treatment, has had a very positive effect on my life.

-Jason C.


I first experienced depression in 2007 – my depression has been mild but chronic. Depression has negatively impacted all areas of my life.
 I decided to receive TMS Therapy because I didn’t like the side effects of medication. I started to notice a change in mood between half way and three quarters of the way through the treatment course.
Since receiving TMS Therapy, I am able to enjoy life and friends.”

-L.T.


Everyone at the Pasadena office is AWESOME!! Dr. Hutton is warm and so easy to talk to you .The nurses are attentive and very professional. We are so blessed that we found TMS.

– R.R.


PATIENT’S FATHER

An outstanding staff, and a life-changing treatment for Andie.


[Before TMS treatment], I would purposely try to imagine what it is like to want to exist or not want to not exist, and such a state of mind proved to be beyond my imagination… [After TMS treatment], I don’t think about my mood, usually. I can now focus on what it is that I do separate from its affect on my mood. When I play drums I enjoy it, and my enjoyment is usually not within my awareness. I am now more than mood.

-Kevin M


Before treatment my depression was an everyday challenge. Now my sleep patterns are better and energy level is better. My spirits have been uplifted. My experience was good. Both the Tech and Doctor were helpful. Treatment was helpful and I would recommend it to others.

-Jackson S


A. C: YOUNG WOMAN SHARES HER EXPERIENCE

[Before treatment] I was down and out and had disconnected from life. I couldn’t stand to listen to music. It was too overwhelming. I had no joy in life anymore. Food tasted horrible and I remember just feeling hopeless and crying at the drop of a dime. After a few treatments I realized music was missing from my life and it brought me such joy. I started walking everyday. I woke up with excitement now and I began to cook, eat, and enjoy life. I have to say it is just the best choice I have made in my whole life. It saved my life & I love the staff, Stacy, and Dr. Hutton is very compassionate and understanding.”


What do other people considering treatment need to know?

I have noticed a huge change. I have been hospitalized over 15 times, including a three month stay in a treatment center, and this has helped more than any of my hospitalizations. ECT was also treatment I have undergone, and this was superior with far, far, less side effects. Before TMS, I was sleeping half of the day and now I don’t nap at all. It even helped with my anxiety. I would highly suggest TMS to anyone suffering from a mood disorder.”

-Mike C.


I experienced joy again…

TMS dramatically improved my bipolar symptoms – after over 20 other therapies failed.

I experienced joy again after a long time thanks to SoCal TMS.

I’ve worked with a lot of doctors and multiple TMS clinics.  Dr. Hutton and his amazing staff are thoughtful, creative, responsive, dedicated medical providers. They are the best.  Full Stop.

No one else comes close

-Matthew E


I was depressed, anxious, and struggling with constant brain fog. In short, I was not satisfied with the quality of my life.

Now, I am feeling fresh, I have a new perspective in life. Thanks to TMS adequately dealing with my brain fog, anxiety, and depression. My relationships are improving along with my mood. My career is taking a turn for the better too! This is one of the best investments I have ever made! Thank you!

-Nadeem


I’ve suffered from chronic depression most of my adult life which has affected my work and relationships.

Now I feel hopeful that the improvements in my mood will last well into the future. The change has been very positive as it has experience with the treatment and office staff. Thank you!

-Myron


LETTER TO DR. HUTTON – BY SHARON BISON

I wanted to follow up with you on my status after completing my last of 36 TMS treatments late in February.  I initially thought about sending this letter right away, but felt that it was important for me to let some time pass and see if the positive results that I was experiencing were sustainable.

By way of a brief history, I have battled depression for many years.  Episodes that occurred early in my life (loss of both parents as a pre-teen, a violent rape, horrible experiences in foster care to name just a few) set the stage for some difficult adjustments as a young adult, and traumatic experiences continued later in life (ugly divorce, raising 4 kids on my own, remarrying and then having second husband commit suicide, loss of my home a few years ago).  Over the past 6 or 7 years, my ability to bounce back from some of these episodes has diminished to a large degree and I found myself trying to find an antidepressant that worked for me and didn’t cause numerous and difficult side effects.

I asked my GP several times if there was anything new in the way of depression treatment that I could look at and was told that I could augment the drugs already prescribed with an “abilify-type” prescription, but nothing else was offered in the way of treatment.

I went online and drilled down into several websites dealing with depression until I found the SoCal TMS Center site.  It stopped me in my tracks…mainly because it indicated remission was a possibility and that is contrary to everything my GP had told me about depression.

I made the decision to look into it and was so pleased to have Joanne Gadsky as an advocate to help me get through the application and initial process and I cannot tell you what a difference the TMS treatment has made in my life.

I have a better outlook, more energy, and a sense of self that I haven’t experienced for years.  The following changes (just to name a few) have occurred in the past few weeks:

I have found myself singing out loud in the car where in the past, I’d turn the radio off because it was too overwhelming;

I am enjoying cooking again, am eating better, and not wasting food like I was (I would shop on the weekend with the intent of cooking during the week but become too overwhelmed when I got home from work to make a decision on what to fix or be too tired to fix anything, so food would spoil);

At work, I was having a very hard time focusing on my job and the day-to-day deadlines, responsibilities, and drudgery were dragging me down; I am more productive, working more efficiently, and am not so exhausted when I get home.

My exercise levels had decreased significantly because I always felt so tired, overwhelmed, or just didn’t care enough to move…I have done some sort of exercise every day for the past 3 weeks and it feels great!

Reading…I am an avid reader but had all but given pleasure reading up because it was so hard to concentrate. I’ve read several books in the past few weeks!

Time with my kids and grandkids—my family is very important to me but I would find myself saying “no” to invitations from family because I just didn’t have the strength, interest or stamina. I’ve talked with them all about the depression and the treatment and am seeing them on a regular basis again.

Hope for the future…I actually feel more like myself than I have in years and feel like there is more out there for me to do, explore and enjoy, a feeling I haven’t had for years.

I am very hopeful that these changes are sustainable and am glad that there is the potential for “maintenance” treatments down the road and will keep you appraised of my status.

Thank you both for all of your support and assistance—I think TMS treatment, as difficult as it is to get through, is miraculous!”

-Warm regards,
Sharon Bison

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15


Every day was a battle. To get out of bed, get a shower and get dressed. Things that other people do with ease. Thoughts of being worthless and life being dull. I would think not living is so much easier than living with my depression. Every day I would have to somehow convince myself that it will get better.

I wouldn’t say I’m cured by any means. Things are easier, I thought I can get out of bed without having a pep talk and no thoughts of suicide which is abnormal for me now that I have more control. I don’t feel hopeless.”

-Terrance


I thought I was living as everyone did. I mean, I knew I was depressed but I didn’t really know what that meant. I would spend days in bed. I would pick fights because I felt like things were going poorly. I had lost hope and I didn’t even know it.

Now I feel like a different version of myself. I can tell a bad situation from a good one and turn away from it without feeling like a failure. I get out of the house. I get excited. I feel amazing and I can’t believe that this happiness was missing my entire life.

-Maragret


Prior to starting TMS treatment, I had absolutely no energy to do simple everyday tasks, such as going to the grocery store or running errands. I isolated myself from friends, family, and preferred not to engage in social activities. I was apathetic about life. I had bouts of fear, anxiety, negative thoughts and felt hopeless about finding joy.

After TMS, I now have a lot more energy to do the things that I enjoy now. My life has happiness, meaning, and a sense of fulfillment. I’m not isolating from others, instead I’m embracing the fullness of life. You don’t have to suffer alone. Try TMS to help liberate you from the pain of depression.

-Lynelle


Before TMS therapy, I was very depressed. Felt hopeless with no energy. No motivation to do anything and did not enjoy any activities. Always in a fog. It was so difficult to concentrate. I had a very hard time making a simple grocery list and I cried all the time. I remember wishing I was dead instead.

Now I feel great! Very happy, alive, with tons of energy. I can also focus, make decisions and overall very productive. I’m making plans again, spending time with family and friends. Truly enjoying life. What also was a tremendous help in my recovery were the amazing techs.

-Hensha


I was referred to SoCal TMS by my psychiatrist at Kaiser when the symptoms of my severe depression and anxiety were not being adequately controlled by medication alone. I have a long family history of mental illness in my family, and I have suffered with intermittent depression, anxiety, and OCD since I was a child. At 48 years old, and suffering this most recent and severe episode, I was looking for anything that might help. My father, a retired psychiatrist with 44 years of experience, told me about TMS and suggested I asked my psychiatrist about the procedure. Within two weeks I began my 36-session treatment at SoCal TMS.

I have now completed my TMS treatments and I am virtually free of depression and anxiety Although I have been on medication, seeing an LCSW counselor weekly, and have been in groups, etc., I am quite confident that my treatment at SoCal TMS played a significant role in the extent and speed of my recovery. All staff were kind, professional, flexible with scheduling, and always willing to discuss concerns. I could not have asked for a better experience during this harrowing experience. I now have hope for my future and plans in place to maintain more positive mental health. I enthusiastically recommend SoCal TMS to anyone who meets their criteria for treatment.

-Jeffrey


Before TMS, most moments were really difficult. I wasn’t sleeping right, had virtually no appetite, didn’t want to do anything, had horrible bursts of anxiety and panic, thought about death many times per day and was emotionally disconnected to my loved ones even though I didn’t want to be. I intellectually knew that life was worth living but I didn’t feel that way. Talking myself into staying alive was a daily and nightly battle. Everything felt like it was in black and white.

It’s like a new lease on life because I feel like I can be my full self! I’m closer to my kids than I have ever been and have the energy to do things with them. My sense of humor is back and life feels beautiful! When I had a stressful day or something bad/sad happens it’s now easy to bounce back. I’m starting to pursue things I’ve been interested in, like dancing, kayaking with my family, and moving forward in my career so I can help others. Change isn’t scary anymore. I have an excitement about the future and am grateful for life each morning that I open my eyes. Life is now in “full color”! TMS was instrumental in my recovery from chronic depression and I’m so glad I was able to receive this treatment! I will be forever grateful for the kind care I was met with at Dr. Hutton’s TMS Center.

-Anna


I was frustrated and starting to feel hopeless about finding a way out of depression. I had really low energy and a lot of irritability to the point that it started affecting my most important relationships.

Now, I feel more able to live in the present and to appreciate the good parts of my life rather than fixating on the negative ones. My emotions are much more stable now and I’m not constantly awaiting the next mood swing.
Besides the clinical effects of treatment I feel like the warm and caring environment provided by Paula and Yesenia helped my mood lift. They made me feel safe and comfortable throughout the entirety of my treatment journey.”

-Elenie


Before TMS, every day I thought of death. Waking up was a pure disappointment. I had several suicide attempts in the past years and had also some at 12 and 16. My life was always surrounded by a deep, dark cloud I could not see or explain. I’m married to a wonderful man, have 3 healthy children while not wealthy, we are comfortable. There would be no reason in reality to feel this way – but I had all my life.

After TMS therapy, it’s as if someone took the dark cloud away and switched on a beautiful light. I’m still progressing every day. Suicidal thoughts are gone and I actually have hope for the first time in my life. My family is blown away by the change and I know this is my life’s greatest blessing. Without TMS (Joann, Dr. D. Elian, Stephanie, Chris and Yesenia) I’d still be in that deep dark pit with no escape and still constantly thinking of suicide. TMS has saved my life and that is not an understatement.

-Joanna

ASK US
A QUESTION








COVID-19 UPDATE: Our Commitment to Your Care & Mental HealthRead More